jump to navigation

Technology Slut July 20, 2008

Posted by spencerd in PS3, xbox 360.
Tags: ,
trackback

yes I am.  Bought a PS3 today.  So gaming for the next couple of years is all set, at least for my household.  It was pretty funny when my son and I were setting up the PS3, it asked “what other gaming systems do you own?”

We checked every one, except the original Xbox.  Yeah, we have a Wii, Xbox 360, DS lite, PSP, Gameboy Advance, and now a PS3.  Along with 2 laptops, 2 Windows desktops, and a Linux machine.

I’m not bragging.  Actually it’s slightly embarrassing.

Oh well, some guys are into boating.  Hunting.  or cars.  Me, I’m a technology slut (as my wife calls me).  That would have been a great name for a website, or this blog.  🙂

Any way, we got the MGS4 bundle, and it’s cool.  Yeah, I know that the price is gonna get cut soon.  The problem is, I wanted to make sure that it was backward-compatible with our PS2 games (oh yeah, forgot, we have one of those too.  🙂  From what I’ve read, the new 80 gb models will NOT be backward-compatible.  I think Sony is going to be ending the PS2 platform, and that’s one way to hasten it. Makes sense, as the PS2 hardware just won’t be able to handle the new games.  So far, my impression is pretty positive.  Games look absolutely great, even the old PS2 ones.  Everyone looks at the price, but when you just figure in the wireless connectivity that comes built in, then I remember paying $100 for a wireless adapter for the Xbox360, well, right there you have about the same price.  The interface is OK, and I like the skins better on the PS3 than the xbox.  You can actually see them.  It is pretty obvious that Sony designed this console to be pretty forward-thinking, and I do think that it is just hitting it’s stride.  I can’t really say which system I like better, I’m glad I have both!  The countdown to GOD of WAR III begins!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

