jump to navigation

“The Mist” April 12, 2008

Posted by spencerd in books, movies/tv, science fiction.
trackback

I watched “The Mist” last night, having read the novella years ago. Pretty decent flick, good acting and pretty tense in parts. I’m sure many who saw this just looked at it as dinosaurs invade, which is my only real complaint about the film. As I remember, King’s story was kind of a homage to H.P. Lovecraft and his Cthulhu myths, which I read years ago also. The tentacle scene evoked some imagery of that, but everything else was pretty much a dinosaur or insect thing. I know, it’s a minor quibble, and most don’t even know what I’m talking about when I mention Cthulhu, but I do think it’s my only major complaint when it comes to the movie. Of course, the real monsters in the movie aren’t the monsters, and I remember that being one of the focal points of the story also. Marcia-Gaye Hardin, or whatever her name is, did a nice job as the religious wacko. I don’t remember if the ending of the story is the same as the book, but it is quite an ending. If you haven’t seen it, and you like tense horror films, you could do much worse. I give it 3 out of 5 hammers.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

