jump to navigation

I AM LEGEND December 31, 2007

Posted by spencerd in comics/graphics.
trackback

Well, I finally saw the remake of one of my fav flicks from my childhood. I probably saw “The Omega Man” on the afternoon movie when i was about 10 or so. Loved it then, and still do. Yeah, it’s dated. Yeah, it didn’t have any special effects. Yeah, it was pretty obvious it wasn’t Charlton Heston on the motorcycle. But it was great.

Unfortunately, Will Smith’s version is……just…….OK. If I had to grade it, I would give it a C+. Reminded me too much of one of those arcade games, with the vampires? mutants? zombies? jumping all over and being really, really strong. The movie hints that maybe, just maybe, the “mutants” are smart, but since they never communicate, and just bash into things, one never really knows. Smith, for his part, does an excellent job acting. That is probably the reason for the C+. The “mutants” don’t look very realistic, and the whole “trap” thing, well……..

One of the things I liked about Heston’s version is you got to know the “bad guys” very well. Their motivations, etc. lent a certain realism to it. (They still remind me of certain rightwingers today, haha).

3 hammers for this one.

hammer.jpghammer.jpghammer.jpg

Comments»

1. dylan555 - January 3, 2008

It’s definitely a departure from the Richard Matheson novela of the same title (which the Omega Man is pretty true to). I thought the ending sucked.

2. spencerd - January 4, 2008

yeah, the ending of The Omega Man was much more satisfying.
While it will never happen, this story would be perfect for a showtime/hbo-type of miniseries.

3. Jaimi - January 6, 2008

Honestly, I’ve never seen The Omega Man, but I wasn’t a huge fan of I Am Legend. It was entertaining whilst in the theatre, but I wouldn’t take the time to see it again.
It reminded me alot of 28 Days Later, which consequently, I loooooved.


Leave a Reply

