jump to navigation

Godland November 2, 2007

Posted by spencerd in comics/graphics, DC, marvel, science fiction.
trackback

As a pretty big Jack Kirby fan, I was intrigued when I saw this series on the stands. At first, I chalked it up to some simple attempt to copy the King’s style. Somewhere I heard that it was actually pretty good, so I gave it a try around the 5th or 6th issue. I was pleasantly surprised, and laughed my ass off more and more with each issue. While containing great art and an obvious tip of the hat to comics of the ’60’s and ’70’s, it’s at heart a great satire on both issues. The overtly sexual innuendos and the exaggerated artwork is enough to keep me buying it, not to mention that it takes the whole “power cosmic” motif and actually brings it into today’s world.

It’s not for everyone, and if you are not a fan of old FF & Thor Kirby stuff, then I wouldn’t suggest it, but if you are, it’s pretty darn cool.

godland

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

